Two years.

by Hannah

This tiny baby is turning two today.

Like many mothers, I am reflecting on a 40ish hour labor and the unspeakable joy it was to look at his face for the first time. I’m thinking about all that has happened since that night- how I fell in love with all 5 pounds 11 ounces of him, and more and more each day since. How he’s changed, and become this smart, funny, spirited little boy.

More than all the memories, I am thinking about who he is, and who he will be, and how this is only the beginning still. I wonder who he will be and what he will do. I hope that I will guide him well on the way.

Right now, he is affectionate and loving, stubborn and full of spirit. He loves to play outside. He has an insanely long attention span for his age. He likes to color and play instruments. His favorite shows are Caillou and Blue’s Clues. He loves to read with us. He adores his dad, grandpa and uncle (me and his grandma too, but you can tell it’s important to him to be one of the guys). His vocabulary grows every day, and he points out every car and airplane. He notices tiny details and points them out- like a crescent moon out in the middle of the day, or a bird high up in the sky. He amazes me.

Happy birthday, Seth my love.

One Comment to “Two years.”

  1. Happy Birthday Seth! And happy birthday to you too Hannah! Moms should get a little of the birthday credit don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

