Lovely Rice Pudding

by Hannah

Rice pudding always makes me think of this poem by A.A. Milne, which my grandma used to read to me a lot. I had a book of A.A. Milne poems when I was a kid.

What is the matter with Mary Jane?
She’s crying with all her might and main,
And she won’t eat her dinner – rice pudding again –
What is the matter with Mary Jane?

What is the matter with Mary Jane?
I’ve promised her dolls and a daisy-chain,
And a book about animals – all in vain –
What is the matter with Mary Jane?

What is the matter with Mary Jane?
She’s perfectly well, and she hasn’t a pain;
But, look at her, now she’s beginning again! –
What is the matter with Mary Jane?

What is the matter with Mary Jane?
I’ve promised her sweets and a ride in the train,
And I’ve begged her to stop for a bit and explain –
What is the matter with Mary Jane?

What is the matter with Mary Jane?
She’s perfectly well and she hasn’t a pain,
And it’s lovely rice pudding for dinner again!
What is the matter with Mary Jane?

The whole thing has a totally new meaning to me now that I am the parent of an almost-toddler…
(who by the way just went to bed at 10:45!)

Anyway…

I had leftover brown rice from dinner the other day, and so I decided to make rice pudding and blog about it. I have fun taking pictures while I cook.

Ingredients:
ricepudding07
The rice, of course. 2 cups.

ricepudding06
3 cups of milk, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/8 teaspoon of salt, 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla, 1/2 cup raisins, and nutmeg, cinnamon and cloves to taste.

So I am not one of those really awesome food bloggers who has a great photo for each and every step, a la the Pioneer Woman or Smitten Kitchen, but bear with me here…

First you combine the rice, milk, salt and sugar in a medium saucepan. Then get ready to add the vanilla…
ricepudding05

And, added! lol…
ricepudding04

And the raisins.
ricepudding03

Then bring it to a boil over medium-high heat.
ricepudding02

Allow it boil gently for a couple minutes, then lower the heat and let it cook, covered, until most of the milk is absorbed and it looks “puddingish”.
Then add the spices and enjoy it, hot or cold it is so yummy. I ate it for breakfast two days in a row.

I haven’t the faintest idea what the matter was with Mary Jane anyway. Maybe she was teething? Actually she sounds a bit spoiled- listen to all the stuff they promised her, just to try and shut her up!

Enjoy the recipe friends!


Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

