A Downtown Stroll

by Hannah

This morning we got up and went right to my new absolute favorite-ever coffee shop, Mother Earth Coffee in Lake Worth. It is the most adorable and eclectic little place, with the work of local artists all over and a funky mix of modern and antique furniture. And everything I’ve ever ordered there has been wonderful.

lovely lamp

We sat and had our coffee and Seth had his peaches in the stroller, and we chatted about this and that with the sweet owner Patti. I may even get to put some of my photography up in the shop!
motherearthcoffee

After breakfast we walked around and explored Lake Worth a bit, and I realized once again how lucky I am to live here, and how little I have taken advantage of how cool it is. I really need to avoid taking this place for granted (not to mention the weather- it’s the beginning of February and we were casually strolling in t shirts and flip flops!)

sunshine

bougainvillea

This little alleyway is actually along the side of one of my other favorite places- The Soma Center. They offer all kinds of events and yoga classes and a raw vegan restaurant that is oh so yummy!
garden alley

Some other scenes from our walk–

clocklakeworth

thesquare

weshallovercome

electric

fluttering

We stopped into Yesterday’s Antique Mall on the way back to our car, and I am so very glad we did.

antiquebooks01

antiquebooks02

antiquephone

I love antiques, and this place is enormous. It was so much fun looking at all the old books and this cool telephone, and plates and vases and a billion other little things…
and then I found the cameras. Oh my goodness, they had about 20 antiques cameras. Ones that I recognized from my online reading. We were not speding any money today, or I probably would have walked out with one right then, but I am definitely planning on going back. They had a couple of Yashica Electros, which I’ve heard are awesome, as well as some TLR cameras and a few really, really old Polaroids… oh it was great!
Speaking of old cameras, I finally found a local place that can fix my Pentax Spotmatic. So when I can I am going to bring it in. The guy who looked at told me that it’s a really great camera- I can’t wait to use it again! I realized today that it’s been over a year since I took even one picture on film. That is changing soon though- there is really nothing like it and I’m looking forward to getting used to it again.

I am feeling lately like I’m always on the edge of insanity. Sleep deprivation has a lot to do with it, but it’s also me not always handling the stress of parenthood very well. I am trying. Getting out like we did today helps me tremendously though. Taking pictures and being creative keeps me together and helps me manage everything. I love my family so very much and I want to be the best wife and mother I can be, and taking the time for my own passions helps me with that. And when I can get out with both of them and take picture like I did today- that is a gift.

Oh speaking of my family, here is a (not very good, sorry) picture of Seth standing up all by himself! He loves “practicing” standing. He has three teeth now, and his other top one is {right there} and is the source of last night’s sleeplessness. I am hoping that everything gets much better once it’s through.
standing up!

Leave a Reply

