I feel quiet lately.

by Hannah

I have not posted a lot lately. Part of the reason is that I never want my blog to feel like work, like an obligation on my to-do list. I want to always enjoy it. So since I have been pretty busy with other things lately I haven’t been here as much.

I also have been thinking a lot. I’ve been feeling contemplative and quiet and just haven’t wanted to write about it yet. Until now I guess. I have been looking at how I respond to stressful situations on a daily basis- kind of evaluating myself emotionally and interpersonally and I’m not always thrilled with what I see. I think my lack of grace there is a result of not enough sleep and not enough self-nurturing. I don’t remember the last time I just meditated, or did something to purposefully calm my mind at all. When I take even a very small amount of time every day for that type of activity I see a huge difference in myself, so I am really trying to work on that.

I wanted to crochet last night- I haven’t done it in so long (due to all the busyness)- and I couldn’t find my crochet bag. I have no idea what I did with it… which is sad and frustrating. It’s not like our house is very big, so it seems really strange to misplace something like that. Hopefully today I’ll remember where it is…

We are leaving on Tuesday for our trip up to the frozen North. We have actually had a few pretty hot days here- it feels like Florida again- so the Massachusetts whether is going to be a bit of a shock for us. I think snow is beautiful though, and I am looking forward to seeing the part of my family that lives up there. What I am not looking forward to quite so much is the hours on planes and in airports with a one year old. I need that grace I was talking about for that- like, triple doses of it. I am hoping that he will surprise us and be content the entire time…

I took my first Holga pictures yesterday. It feels strange and I keep wondering if I’m even doing it right. I’ll get it processed tomorrow so we’ll see.

Later today we’re going to a street painting festival- I’m definitely looking forward to it.

Sorry for not having any weekend links… except the thing that took up the vast majority of my time this week- my new website!

{happy weekend!}

Leave a comment