Paris. Ah yes, that would be nice…

by Hannah

Photobucket
{photograph by Orsolya Ganzler}

Manny and I almost went to Paris on our Honeymoon. We talked to a travel agent about it, we almost booked it… and then realized that we just couldn’t pull it off financially. So we went to Georgia, had a wonderful time, and told ourselves that we would go to Paris when we could. We are going to start a fund for the trip, and add a bit to it here and there so that we feel like it will eventually be a reality. Of course now it will be a family trip. We have always been advocates of globetrotting with kids in tow- I think it is good for them, and I think that it just isn’t right for parents to feel like they must put all travel dreams on hold for 18-plus years. As we’ve daydreamed about our big European adventure, it has evolved to include not only Paris, but other parts of France, and Barcelona, and possibly even Portugal. It is going to be involved, possibly quite tiring, completely breathtaking, fairly expensive, and positively wonderful. We will get there.

In other news…

My little one is still miserably sick. Poor thing.

I kind of wish I needed a new camera bag, because I have a serious crush on the Ginger bag from Epiphanie. Just gorgeous. Manny got me a new camera bag for my birthday, which is also beautiful:
Photobucket

And I really am thankful for the bag I have and the wonderful husband who was thoughtful enough to pick it out for me. : )

Oh and speaking of Epiphanie, they are doing a giveaway on their blog right now, for either a Canon 5D Mark II, or a $2500 gift certificate to Southwest Airlines. I keep wondering which I would choose… I have been a Nikon girl all along, but this camera would be a significant upgrade from the one I have, but I would need to buy lenses for it because all my lenses are of course Nikon… and well, my goodness- $2500 in airfare!? That we could certainly put to good use. With our plans to go to Colorado. And probably another trip to visit my family in Massachusetts as well. And maybe Maine- I have been dying to bring Manny there… Yes I think that I would choose the airfare. {I do have plans for a future camera upgrade though, once my business grows to the point where it makes sense.}

Desserts need to be banned from my house. I have been eating Key Lime Pie and homemade brownies lately. Too much sugar. But seriously, yum. I am inspired and slightly ashamed by this post by my friend Jami who is fasting from sugar right now. As far as healthy eating goes, sugar has been one of the hardest things for me. I’ll do really well for a while, and I know a lot about how bad it really is for me, but once I start eating sweets I have trouble fighting the cravings. And it makes me feel so sick too. I think I might just have to commit to a total fast from it as well, to break the cycle. After the pie and brownies are gone… {shame on me lol}

Oh and speaking of food, I saw Julie & Julia a few nights ago. I loved it. It was beautiful and funny and made me want to cook all kinds of beautiful, delicious things. I wanted to buy Julia Child’s book and master the art of French cooking myself. I wanted a mortar and pestal and a really good knife and an adorable kitchen with pans hanging on the walls (you’d have to see it).

I really like this article from Simple Mom about creating a rich childhood for your kids while living a frugal life. I want to raise our children this way.

I want a vintage-style clamp task lamp for my desk. Better yet, one that actually is vintage. I see a flea market in my future…

I cut up my new Anthropologie catalog and pinned a bunch of the pictures on the cork boards above my desk. I love the photography (and of course the items) in those catalogs.

Photographer Nancy Neil’s home, featured on Design Sponge,
ME5G3554
it is so beautiful and inspiring to me. The story behind the house is pretty amazing as well. I love her work too- it is so real and raw and in breathtakingly beautiful way. Here is the Flickr set with more pictures of the house. I want to create a home that speaks of who we are as a family, in every detail. I want to find unique and beautiful things at flea markets and thrift and antique stores, rather than just going to Target, you know?

This post, from Becoming Sarah, made me tear up a bit.

And finally, Happy Birthday (yesterday) to the one and only Theodor Seuss Geisel- Dr. Seuss. Some wonderful quotes of his:

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”

“Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

“I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind. Some come from ahead and some come from behind. But I’ve bought a big bat. I’m all ready you see. Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me!”

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

“Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the things you can think up if only you try!”

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

Oh my goodness I could go on and on. What a truly special person. He would have been 106 years old.

This can officially go on the top ten most random posts ever list. I am okay with that. : )

2 Comments to “Paris. Ah yes, that would be nice…”

  1. okay, so personally, I l o v e your random posts. In DTS I didn’t really get to know you very well, so this tells me alot. I really like them!

    That’s amazing that you want to go to europe! Can’t wait to see your photographs of the trip! I think it’s wise that you and Manny didn’t go, even though that was probably hard, it’s more rewarding to not be in a lot of debt I imagine! One day you’ll get there!

    I’m sorry Seth is still sick! I love your birthday bag, it seems so you! Hope you can win that giveaway :) And that’s awesome you are going to do a sugar fast. It’s the hardest thing I’ve done in a while… i am not exaggerating! But you will probably have an easier time than me! I eat horribly, I wish you lived closer so I could learn from you!!! Ugh, it’s hard. so far so good, but that doesn’t mean I don’t crave it! GO YOU! Maybe we can inspire and encourage each other!

    I haven’t watched Julie and Julia yet, and want to because someone told me that i would like it bc it has something to do about blogging too? I just really hate cooking (which i’m working on) and I didn’t think i’d like it. Do you recommend it, even to someone like me (bad cook)?

    I did not know it was Dr. Suess’ bday! Wow! I used a quote on the day of his bday but just thought it was amazing! I love the other quotes too, thanks for sharing!!

  2. Jami~
    Yeah I think you will Julie and Julia, as it is also about writing (and blogging), and life. Thanks for all the comments you leave here- I love them!
    I think it would be great for us to encourage eachother with the sugar thing, it might make it easier. I’ll still use natural forms of it like raw sugar or agave though, in moderation. I’ll let you know when I start.
    : )

Leave a Reply

