{New Camera}

by Hannah

Today my Nikon D700 came in the mail. I knew it would be awesome, and better than my D70s in many ways, but I am still amazed. I went out with it in my in-laws’ back yard earlier to play a bit. I still have a lot to learn about it but I am already in love!
{these are all SOOC (straight out of camera) except for cropping in the case of the square ones. you’ve probably noticed I have a thing for square crops :) }

a little self-portrait action (possibly one of the last shots of me without dreads?!)
self portrait

just look up.

contemplative

watching birds
watching birds

Jackie’s amaryllis about to bloom
amarillas- almost there

A few thoughts on equipment…
I am usually a big proponent of spending your money on glass rather than camera bodies. Good lenses make a huge, huge difference, and will last you a lifetime if taken care of. Especially in this digital world, a camera body will need to replaced periodically. But, there comes a time when you just have to upgrade the body, and I was there. I was noticing graininess, needed high ISO capabilities, and really wanted a full-frame sensor. I am really, really glad I made this decision and I feel it was a smart one for my business. I will now have a backup camera (my old one), which is also a very good thing. Now I will be saving for some new lenses, as my collection is quite small and limiting. The 85mm and a macro are high on my list…

more photos coming soon I am sure!

Leave a Reply

