education, continued?

by Hannah

I have been doing quite a lot of thinking lately. Thinking about goals and the future, and where my career is headed and where I want it to go. I love doing portrait work, but I never intended it to be the extent of my photography career. I have always wanted to see my work published. I have had an ongoing love affair with magazines and catalogs since I was a child. That is what I really want to do- editorial and commercial photography. In researching how to get started in that- because I really had no idea- I felt overwhelmed and under-qualified, and when it comes down to it, I need more training, both in photography and in business.
So I am flirting with the idea of going back to school. There are online degree programs that would work well for me, with my schedule. I am so excited about the idea of taking photography courses again, and I really believe that the time and money involved would be worth the career advancement it would bring. If I am going to do something, I want to make sure I really know what I am doing and am good at it. So I am just trying to decide if the timing is right at this point in my life. I will certainly update about it once I decide.

Leave a Reply

