august break, no.29: Holga love.

by Hannah

This is another roll from the Holga that has been through a lot. I wasn’t sure if any of them would come out, because I dropped the camera at one point, and the back popped off in bright sunlight. I was definitely pleasantly surprised by the lovely mysterious imperfection of these.
Shooting with this camera has really influenced me so much as a photographer, and changed the way I shoot and how I think about my work. Never knowing exactly what I’m going to get, and only having 12 shots on a roll of film, adds a quality of excitement and anticipation to the process. Having no settings or focus, and working in square format, makes me focus solely on my composition, and that has made me more intentional in all of my work.

Holga mystique

beachy Holga

beachy Holga

beachy Holga

beachy Holga

beachy Holga

Holga 120N. Kodak Ektar 100 film.

4 Comments to “august break, no.29: Holga love.”

  1. These really are gorgeously surreal. I commented on one at your flickr stream that it’s like seeing things through your eyes…well done.

  2. Awe… thanks for taking & salvaging these! They are so beautiful…almost like water color paintings!

  3. I really love these photos. They are beautiful in their soft fuzzy way.

  4. I love these photos. They’re gorgeous. Makes me want to get out with my Holga and start shooting now. But it’s the middle of the night, and I don’t got a flash. Must sleep. Love your blog.

Leave a Reply

