focusing… {a few thoughts on business.}

by Hannah

{I had this ready to post yesterday, but was having some technical difficulties with WordPress. All is well again today though.}

When my thoughts are chaotic and I’m overwhelmed, getting outside works wonders for me. It is so simple, and so powerful. We have this park we love to go to, just down the road from our house. It’s huge, with a few different playgrounds, small lakes, trails, and even a nature center. We all love it, and when we come back my head is always clearer, and I’m calmer and can focus so much more easily.

And my focus lately? Well, I have been pretty consumed with educating myself about everything small-business related. I truly believe that the difference between success and failure as a creative entrepreneur lies in good business sense. I am so thankful that there is a thriving movement of creative business owners who have chosen careers they are passionate about, and therefore there is a wealth of business knowledge available targeted especially for people with no previous business education.
These are not the things that come naturally for me. This creative mind does not do so well with numbers and such- I did okay in math, but it always took a ton of effort just to get to “okay”, and I certainly never enjoyed it. Fortunately, there are people who are absolutely passionate about numbers, and marketing, and spreadsheets, and they are willing to share their expertise. {bless their hearts, seriously.} I have found so many wonderful resources- some even tailored specifically to photographers. One day I will compile a list to share here.

I am convinced that with enough determination and motivation (and trust me, I don’t think it is possible to be more determined and motivated than I am right now), I can learn all this business stuff, and rock it, despite my right-brainedness.

So, I’m jumping in…

One Comment to “focusing… {a few thoughts on business.}”

  1. You seem to be on the right path! Good luck! I love the shot of the dock! Great job.

Leave a Reply

