return.

by Hannah

Sometimes when I am feeling a little bit… stagnant…, returning to something old and familiar and seeing it in a new way can start the flow of inspiration again.

I collected these on the coast of Maine years ago. Smooth, wave-tossed stones like these always bring me back to that magical island. It is my favorite place in the world, the place of my roots and fondest memories.
I lost my voice last night to a sore throat and cough, and have been trying to get well again while single-handedly caring for a 19 month old who’s cutting two giant molars.
I shot these this afternoon in the hour between when my husband wakes and when he goes back to work. It was my time to connect with myself a bit, to the sound of father and son laughing and wrestling on the bed upstairs. I feel like it couldn’t have been a better use of my time. For some reason, the careful arrangement of a few stones, the undivided attention to composing, focusing- it makes me feel lighter, more centered- a return to myself.

Oh, and, Follow my blog with bloglovin : )

4 Comments to “return.”

  1. Your photos are beautiful. So serene. I find that taking photos takes me out of my self, too. In fact, a day without taking a photo feels like an incomplete day.

    I hope your icky throat goes away and your voice comes back soon. Thanks for the comment. Very much appreciated ona post I didn’t even think was all that great!

    xo Erin

  2. Love these shots.
    So simple, yet so elegant.

  3. I love these so. They make me feel calm and peaceful – like all is as it should be, and all is well.

  4. Thank you, ladies, for your kind words here. I appreciate them immensely.

Leave a Reply

