30 Days of {Truth}

by Hannah

Yesterday my friend Jami posted about these writing project to spur honesty on various topics, over at Live Beautiful. It’s called 30 Days of Truth. I want to participate, though I am just going to take some of the topics to write on throughout the rest of the month. If anything it will spur some interesting thoughts. Thank you Jami for sharing this :)

So first up: “Something you hate about yourself.”

Ugh.

I hate that I could list a lot of things here, some of them so very silly and superficial. I’m working on that.
One thing that I really wish I could change about myself is my tendency to worry too much. I have trouble letting things go when they’re bothering me. I let them consume me to the point of feeling the stress on a physical level. It isn’t healthy or productive, but it is very difficult for me to be at peace and just let things be if something isn’t right. I want to fix everything, and if I can’t I practically let it consume me. It’s almost as if somewhere in my sub-conscience I believe that by worrying I am still putting an effort into fixing it, and to stop worrying would be to give up. Ludicrous, I know. But, at least I’m aware of it, right? ;)

And since I do not want to leave a post on a negative note, I will cover the second prompt here as well: “Something you love about yourself.”
Now, this one is actually more difficult for me, because I hate to feel like I am bragging, so writing about positive aspects of who I am seems… strange. But it is probably a good thing to do.

I love my creative nature. It has always, always been a part of me. As a young child I was most in my element when I was painting or sculpting with clay or making a craft. Both of my parents are artists- creating things was just as normal to me as eating. As I grew up I always had a stash of art supplies, always loved to surround myself with music. Then I found my love for photography and I found my passion and vocation.
This creative nature isn’t only present in what I do, but how I think and how I approach life. A creative mind thinks differently, and solves problems differently. It tries to see life from other peoples’ perspectives. It looks at different angles. It thinks outside the box and doesn’t mind being different- in fact, it thrives on it. I am thankful that this is part of who I am.

2 Comments to “30 Days of {Truth}”

  1. It’s so great to have you linking up and joining in with the 30 Day of Truth challenge! I too, am a worry-wart. I stress out about little things…insignificant things even. So it’s great to at least know that I am not alone! I look forward to reading more and geting to know you through the challenge!! :-)

  2. I’m so glad you’re joining in! I feel like i’ve gotten to know you so much better than in DTS. Plus I imagine you’ve probably changed A LOT since then, I know I have. :)

    Thanks for being so real. Isn’t is sad that it’s so hard to share with others what we love about ourselves. When I saw the question… I was like BUMMER but it was actually good to really sit and think about that huh?

    K, love you

Leave a Reply

