I am guilty…

by Hannah

…of knowing that I need to slow down, stop worrying, eat well, rest more, counter stress with exercise… but not actually doing those things.

I know the importance of taking care of myself- I even write about self-nurturing here sometimes. I know that my family needs me to be healthy. I know that if I am emotionally balanced and physically strong and rested I’ll be a better mom and wife.
But I will be honest with you- I have not been practicing what I preach lately. I stay up late working, I forget to eat lunch, I forget my vitamins, I allow worry to consume my thoughts and allow myself to stress over everything far too often.

This has been at the back of mind constantly. You need to chill Hannah. You are stressing too much Hannah. Just get some sleep Hannah… But I tell myself, I’ll relax when things slow down. This is the busy season. Sleep is overrated. And if I’m really honest with myself, worry makes me feel like I’m not giving up on situations that I can’t control.
So it seems my body is going to make me take it easy and take care of myself,  rather than just waiting for me to get around to it. I am currently fighting shingles for the second time this year, which is a painful form of the same virus that causes chickenpox. Once you have it, the virus lives in your nervous system, and can present itself in times of stress or decreased immunity.
I am trying to take it easy, and finish the editing work I have left as soon as I can. Within the next week or so I should be done, and am planning a few weeks’ break to focus on my family and get healthy again. I am very much looking forward to relaxing for the holidays, and greeting the new year with a fresh perspective and enthusiasm for my business and for life. And I am hoping that I can get in the habit of dealing with stress in healthy ways that prevent it from wreaking such havoc in my life. Back to the yoga mat, I think…

xoxo,
h

Leave a Reply

