Thrifted

by Hannah

Something you may not know about me: I’m not a huge fan of shopping in malls. I have heard some ladies describe shopping as “exhilarating” and “energizing”, but while I don’t completely hate a few hours at the mall, it overwhelms me. I always leave exhausted. Then I discovered the wonders of thrift, antique, and vintage stores, and I think I understand what my mall-shopping friends are talking about. It’s a bit like treasure hunting, and I love it. So here are some of my finds from this week…

I have been wanting a nice floppy hat for gardening and the beach- this one is perfect :)

wooden bowl and spoon- always on the lookout for food photography props

two vintage pillow cases- I always see project tutorials that call for them.

I love this mug for my tea- such a lovely color

a nice, big, simple vase for flowers

I got three of these plates- I love dinnerware that has a handmade feel

The pattern on this skirt- oh I just couldn’t resist.

paisley shawl

This just amazed me- dated 1899 and super heavy (cast iron). I had to get it.

This box is now holding fruit on my kitchen counter.

Pretty patterned butter knife

This lens… doesn’t actually go on any of my cameras, but again I just couldn’t pass it up. I am interested in learning about how to make homemade lenses, which can give a very interesting tilt-shift/Lensbaby look. If I can’t use it for that I might sell it, because it is in great condition.

When I was exploring downtown a few days ago, I found an antique mall that looks like it will easily replace my favorite on that closed several months ago. Seth was fussy so I only glanced at a few things before needing to leave, but I am planning on going back in by myself soon and taking some time.

Have a beautiful week, friends!

-h

4 Comments to “Thrifted”

  1. enjoyed your discoveries! I just might venture out for some thrifting myself this week…

  2. I love thriftstore shopping! My hubby and I were just talking about that today in fact. He can out-do me shopping wise any old day though…too much stimulation for my brain!

  3. What wonderful finds! I’m too a fan of thrift shopping.
    You’ll have to let us know what you do with that lens of yours, you’re so crafty :)

  4. you have some beautiful finds there; Like you, I love to go scouring the brocantes here and I’m not keen on shopping but my girls love it, so I’m often being dragged around!
    That butter knife is gorgeous and a Rokkor lens! Lucky, lucky you!!

Leave a Reply

