Archive for March 29th, 2010

March 29, 2010

for the love of film

by Hannah

Today I picked up pictures from my first roll of film since picking my Pentax Spotmatic up from the repair shop. This camera has been broken for a few years now. One camera shop told me it wasn’t fixable, but I didn’t believe them. I finally found this little place locally, owned and operated by this nice elderly gentleman who is pretty much a photography genius. I’m so happy to be able to use this camera again- here are a few from this roll. I’ll post more soon but I am tired now and need to get to bed!

79{365}

81{365}

84{365}

Oh by the way… in other analog photography news, instant film isn’t dying after all! The Impossible Project proved last week that sometimes the impossible is possible after all, and have made a new instant black and white film available for vintage Polaroid cameras. A color version is coming this summer. Unfortunately I do not have an SX-70 that actually works, and I wouldn’t spend the money for the new film for my other Polaroid camera- the quality just isn’t very good. When I can, I would love to get either an SX-70 or an SLR 680.